School Curriculum

The Mekaela Academies follow the two National Education systems: 8.4.4 and CBC.

  • 8-4-4 Curriculum:

This curriculum is currently being phased out by the Kenyan Government. In it we had students undertaking 8 years in Primary, 4 years in High School and 4 years in University.

Before this defined system starts, the children have to go through Early Childhood Education which starts from age 3 to 5 or Baby Class, Kindergarten 1 and 2 then the Primary level starts from age 6 or thereabout.

  • CBC Curriculum:

Mekaela Academies also offers the newly introduced Competency-Based Curriculum. This is the new education system in Kenya that is currently set to replace the 8-4-4 education system. The system was introduced in 2017.

CBC has divisions such as;

  1. Pre-primary Education (PP1 and PP2)
  2. Lower primary Education (Grade 1-3)
  3. Upper primary (Grade 4, 5 & 6)
  4. Junior secondary (Grade 7, 8, & 9)
  5. Senior School (Grade 10, 11 & 12)

Mekaela Academies has put in place all the requisite structures, facilities and trained CBC Champions among its teaching staff to take on board this new curriculum and deliver high quality teaching to the students.

Extra Subjects offered:

MA teaches extra subjects in the Primary Section other than the prescribed, these include German Language and Computer Studies. As the world continues to embrace IT then our children need to tag along and hence the program which has modern tablets, laptops and qualified teachers to deliver to the children.

MA also teaches Life Skills to her children after realizing that many basic skills are fading away from the younger generation. Simple cooking, sowing, cleaning, etiquette and general life practices are emphasized and inculcated into the lives of the young ones.

MA has also has very vibrant Guidance and Counselling departments in each school which equips and counsels children when need arises. We believe in prevention but we are also ready for the cure in case it is required.

Welcome and Join Us!